Posted by: rusch | December 12, 2008

And the door slammed shut

Not really.  When I told Tina about the title of this post, she reminded that there is still hope.  In case your wondering what all this means, I will explain.

Ever since I got home from my mission is 2000, I have been interested in being a full time seminary teacher for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  During the 2006-2007 school year, I went so far in pursuing this by substitute teaching some early morning classes back in Atlanta.  I loved it, and held out hope that maybe, just maybe, the stars would align and somehow I would be able to land one of those highly sought after full time positions.

Well, on my birthday, I took the day off from work.  I went on down to the CES preservice office at BYU and sat down and talked with head of things there.  Essentially the message was, unless I was willing to quit my job to take the classes and do the student teaching, this wasn’t going to work out.  I went so far as to check in with the preservice head honcho there.  He gave me hope telling me that the preservice classes just might be available online through the LDS Institute of Religion in Logan.

It’s a long shot, but I will still stay optomistic about this while this option is still a possibility.  We will have to wait and see.

Thanks to Tina for keeping hope alive.  Because without hope, what kind of life is there?


Leave a Reply

Categories

