Posted by: rusch | November 30, 2008

A Bible a Bible, I bought another Bible

Here is a list of the Bibles I currently own.

  • Multiple copies of the King James Version.  I like this one.  Although it is tough to understand in places and newer translations are more accurate, the literary value of this version is what makes it unique.  Harold Bloom was correct in including this book as part of the western canon.
  • Two copies of the New Revised Standard Version.  John Remy turned me on to this one about a year and a half ago in one of his posts at Mind on Fire.  There’s nothing quite like being able to read Paul, or much of the Old Testament without thinking about what a word or phrase meant in the 17th English.  I thought about picking up another copy while I was at Barnes and Noble, but thought three would be overkill (plus I think that Cambridge University Press Makes really nice Bibles so decided not to buy one this afternoon was a good call).
  • The Revised English Bible.  This one intrigued me from the moment I found out it existed.  It reads very much like the NRSV though it is different in places.  N.T. Wright has stated it is unreliable in places, but I think that comes with the territory when you are translating ancient documents into modern English.  There is bound to be some subjectivity, but as long the translators are “honest” I think you are okay.
  • And, finally, I most recently acquired Jewish Publication Society edition of the TANAKH, or the Jewish Bible.  I had heard good things about it and that it is used in Hebrew bible classes at Yale University.

So, now that I have all these Bibles, it is my goal to read them all.  It may not sound like fun to you, but I can’t wait.


Leave a Reply

Categories

