Posted by: rusch | November 5, 2008

Jobs of my teens

I have worked at some pretty mundane places.  Among them was the Winn-Dixie Marketplace off of Five Forks Trickum road in Lawrenceville, Georgia.  My friends Ashley Shae (now Frandsen) and Michael Gossling helped me get this job.  I started working there at the end of the cross country season in 1994.  Because I was fifteen at the time, I could only work weekends.  Being Mormon, this narrowed things down to one day a week which, at the time was great.

During any given shift I would bag groceries, straighten up the aisles, bring in carts (my personal favorite) and clean the bathrooms (not as bad as it sounds).  All these activities would last about two hours and the rest of the my time was spent messing around and basically having a good time.  It was a great first real job.

One thing I recall about my job was how many of my coworkers smoked.  I would sit out in front of store, drinking Cokes, while my coworkers would puff away and complain about the latest injustice that had been done to them.  I guess because I was a nice guy, and still am by some accounts, I was the shift shoulder to cry on.

The thing I liked best about the job was getting to know people that I went to school with.  I went to such a big school it was really hard to get to know people and strangely enough bagging groceries was a good way to make friends.  I never did anything with people from work after hours and I suppose this was good thing as they were into drinking and sex ( something most Mormons abstain from.  At least from the latter until they are married).

In a way, the job was an outlet.  It got me out of the house and from about the time I fifteen until about the time I turned 17, this was probably a good thing.  It was also really nice having my own money to spend on whatever I felt like too!!!

I worked there for about a year.  I decided to leave once the management changed and the new regime started cracking down actually requiring us to work for a living.  How rude!!!!  Really, the work situation became just about unbearable and this was compounded by the fact that I was already making more money at Hansen Property Management doing less work than I was doing at Winn-Dixie.

The Winn-Dixie has since closed down and is nothing than an empty building these days.  In the end they just could not compete with Kroger and Publix, two great grocery shopping establishments.  But even after fourteen years I look back on those days and wonder if I will ever have a job like that again.  If all goes well for me, not a snowball’s chance in hell.


Categories

