Posted by: rusch | July 27, 2008

Guns I have fired, owned, and want to buy

I don’t fit the mold of a stereotypical gun nut. I would say that I am a firearms enthusiast. Here is a list of guns I have fired

  • .22 caliber rifles of various shapes and sizes. I also fired a .22 pistol and thought it was neat. If I were to buy one, I would go for the the Henry lever action as they are super accurate and a lot of fun.
  • Glock 9mm. This gun is okay. When it comes to handguns I prefer revolvers. I know there are allot of people who swear by the Glock and can’t blame them. This gun is simply not for me.
  • Desert Eagle .50 caliber. The only reason why I fired this one was to say that I had. This gun is powerful that it is almost uncontrollable. I had a hard time with this one and I’m a big guy. Plus the ammo will run you at least two dollars a round.
  • 7.62mm x 39mm SKS. These rifles are still common and still cheap. They used to be in greater abundance than they are today but can still be found at most gun shops. This is a fun round. It will not blow your shoulder off, is cheap, and is fun.
  • 30-06 is a popular hunting caliber. I fired this when I was about fourteen and then three years ago when I was 26.
  • 7.62mm x 54r was the standard round used by Soviet infantry until the adoption of the 7.62mm x 39mm round. I fired this one in a Mosin Nagant and believe that this gun is one of the greatest ever produced. I have one that is over sixty years old and is still deadly accurate. Plus, if you wear out the chamber, you are only out about a hundred bucks. I might use this if I go hunting in the fall.
  • .44 Magnum. I like this. Lots of power and will not blow your hands off. I am going to get one of these in a single action revolver of some sort as soon as I have the money.
  • 12guage shotgun. I own a Remington 870 express super-magnum and this is one of my favorites. It’s reliable, safe, durable, and easy to maintain. A great all around gun. If it is not in your gun closet or if you are thinking about buying a first gun, you will not go wrong with this one.
  • .223 AR-15/M16. I am convinced that the best assault rifle ever produced is the AK-47 and I think our country has made a big mistake by not stealing the Kalashnikov design and using it for out armed forces. A buddy of mine, who was in Iraq, said these guns were supersensitive and failed when he needed it most. I have fired the AR, but will just say it is not for me.
  • 9mm Uzi. Jammed like crazy when I used it.
  • .45 Thompson M1. Thompson hit upon something when he built this gun. It is a rough and ready smg that can take all kinds of abuse and will keep on pumping out lead.
  • .357 magnum. Not much to say. Some people really like it and say it is great for personal defense. I need to shoot this one more.

Guns I own

  • AK47
  • Mosin Nagant
  • Remington 870 12 guage

Wish list

  • Dragunov SVD
  • Colt 45 single action army
  • Schofield single action 45
  • Ruger single action .44 magnum.
  • Soviet RPK
  • M1 Garand
  • Springfield 1911
  • Springfield M1A
  • Side by side double barrel 12 gauge

Yep, I love shooting. This might come as a shock to some, but hey, that’s me.


Categories

