Posted by: rusch | July 9, 2008

I passed

After an hour and a half under the microscope, Dr. Smith said I passed my formal observation for reading instruction.  When she said those words, I felt a great burden lifted.  I was really concerned about this because to pass summer practicum passing scores are required on formal observations for reading and math.  One down, one to go.  I think the math observation will happen sometime next week, though it could come any time.

So far, my experience teaching summer school has been very good.  Working with kids free of severe behavior and emotional disorders has been a good experience though I am still very excited for my job this fall with the kids at the state hospital.  The most important thing I have gained from this experience is the feeling of “I can”.  I can prepare and teach lessons.  I can handle discipline problems.  I can handle record keeping.  I am so glad I have been able to do this and believe it will help me in the fall.


Leave a Reply

Categories

