Posted by: rusch | June 2, 2008

And there were no poor among them

My BYU stake got a new presidency a few months ago. On Sunday, our high councilor announced our stake’s theme for the rest of this year and possibly for the five years or so our stake president will be here. The theme is Moses chapter seven verse eighteen:

And the Lord called his people Zion, because they were of one heart and one mind, dwelt in righteousness; and there was no poor among them.

I am excited and concerned. On the one hand, I am all for building a strong community within the Church and like what this verse implies. On the other hand, I hope this simply does not turn into hollow rhetoric.

Will living in righteousness mean following the teachings of Christ or will it mean an increased emphasis on “ward-house Mormonism”? Will it mean reaching out to the estranged, the different, the disaffected or will we continue to place burdens on ourselves and others that will keep people away? Will we follow the spirit in our meetings, or will the unwritten order of things continue to prevail and be emphasized though it was never presented before the whole Church as is the case for teachings intended for everyone?

While I have these questions, I am optimistic and hope that we can make our ward and stake a more friendly place. After all I have read about Zion, I cannot think of a another place I would like to live. Well, perhaps Hawaii, but I have already been there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

