Posted by: rusch | April 14, 2008

Things I’ve learned this time around

Back in June of 2007 I started my teacher certification program here at BYU.  There are some things I have learned that I would like to pass along to whoever is interested.

  • Collaborate with others:  There is great truth in sayings such as two heads are better then one; many hands make light work; and Together Everyone Achieves More (TEAM).  I used to believe that it was me against the world and the only person I could trust was myself.  Since then my views have changed drastically.  Unlike my undergraduate degree, I have been working together with my fellow cohort members to complete assignments, prepare presentations, and study for tests.  I have done really well and have been nowhere nearly as stressed as I was in the past.
  • Do what needs to be done and then do what you like:  This semester I have taken the time to do what I want after my homework is done.  I have read some good books, watched some good movies, and had been a lot more social this semester then semesters past.  Having outlets for stress has helped me focus my energies on homework.  Not only that, but my efficiency has increased markedly.
  • Play the hand you have been dealt the best you can:  Sometimes we can’t change our situations but we can change the way we react to them.  Instead of mourning and worrying about things I can’t control, I have tried to focus on what I can do.  This is hard.  It takes a lot of effort to recognize what you can change and things outside of your sphere of influence.
  • Believe in yourself:  ‘Nough said.  Believing you can do something is half of achieving a goal.

These are some things that are important to me.  Hope they help.


Leave a Reply

Categories

