Posted by: rusch | April 9, 2008

The Things They Carried

I don’t read a lot of fiction.  I don’t see a lot of use for it in my life and almost always, in fact 99% of the time will choose a non-fiction book over any work of fiction.  I got nothing against fiction, it is simply something that I don’t enjoy as much other things out ther

Every now and then there is a work of fiction that does catch my attention.  Tim O’brien’s The Things They Carried is one of those books.

The book is written from the perspective of a middle aged writer who is coming to terms with his experiences in Vietnam.  There is no linear story to speak of, simply thoughts and then stories from the war that are attempts to demonstrate a point and, in a sense, resurrect the dead, especially in the final chapter.

The Things They Carried is quick read.  If you had the time patience, you could read it one or two sittings.  But seeing as my eyes are going bad and my attention span is not unlike that of a three after drinking a Rockstar, it took my a while to get through.

If you are looking for something good to read, this book comes highly recommended.


Leave a Reply

Categories

