Posted by: rusch | April 9, 2008

General Conference

General conference has come and gone.  I like it.  It is a good change of routine and for some reason five two hour sessions is not nearly as taxing as some Sundays.  This is largely due to the fact that I am sitting at my own house in whatever clothes I want, with my laptop computer and plenty of delicious snacks (maybe I should start bringing snacks to church?).

We sustained a new president of the Church.  This had personal significance.  When I was sixteen or so, I believed that smoking marijuana, drinking, and being promiscuous were stupid.  At the same time I did not think to highly of much of what was said at church.  When Gordon B. Hinkley was sustained in a solemn assembly, I was off doing something else.  I regretted it ever since.  When I found out about President Hinkley’s death I decided that come hell or high water, I was going to take part in President Monson’s sustaining.  I guess now I can really say that Thomas S. Monson is my prophet whereas I did not understand why some people felt so strongly about President Hinkley.

For me the highlight of General Conference is when the priesthood session.  This time around all members of the First Presidency spoke and did a fine job.  Some of the best talks I have heard in a while.  I am looking forward to rereading them when they come online in a couple of days.

During the priesthood session I felt a kind of stirring inside, something I had not felt in a long time.

Overall it was good.  Many of the messages don’t have specific application to me or are remotely related to my circumstances but I recognize that it is selfish to expect the General Authorities to speak directly to my needs in every talk.  Besides, I can always go to the temple, read my scriptures, or pray.  So I am not bereft of sources of inspiration and truth my needs are specifically addressed in a talk.

I am looking forward to next conference.  Until then I am going to stay my course.


Responses

  1. Conference was very moving this time around. What a privilege to be present for a solemn assembly of the church!


Leave a Reply

Categories

