Posted by: rusch | March 17, 2008

Scouting’s purpose?

From the time I was twelve until my eighteenth birthday I was active in Boy Scouts through the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This is almost perfunctory. You turn twelve and by default you are in the troop.

I loved Scouts. I got to do a lot of fun things. But fro the six or so years I spent in the BSA, there are very things that I remember learning how to do other then how to shoot a gun, rappel off and climb up things, how to start fires anywhere and almost under any conditions (gasoline), build shelters, make small explosives, and a lot of other things one would need to know take part in a paramilitary organization.

Ironically when I left the Scout after turning eighteen, I was more prepared to be an insurgent in a Central American conflict then I was to preach the Gospel.

All joking aside I thoroughly loved Scouting. I had a lot of fun and, to a degree, scouting helped me stay away from things like drinking, drugs, and other things youth fall into.

Sometimes I wonder if we could do away with Scouting and come up with a program all our own, one that still has a fun factor, but directly instills LDS values and teaches the doctrine? I think this is possible.

For about two years my old ward teamed up with the Lawrenceville 1st ward to put on our own Scout camp. Of all the scout camps I have been to, the week long camp-out I went on during the summer of between my junior and senior year of high school was by far the best.

But returning to Wednesday night paramilitary training, I wonder why we never learned how to make improvised artillery devices such as the bowling ball cannon below? It is one thing to blow things up or set them on fire. And it is quite another to propel large heavy objects at, say, an armored personnel carrier rumbling through the streets of the capital. Viva la Revolucion.


Leave a Reply

Categories

