Posted by: rusch | February 12, 2008

Honesty

It is refreshing to find people who are honest.  People who not wholly consumed by their own desires and want but are also concerned with what is best for others.  I had a very good experience that I would like to share here.


Since Christmas I started having trouble with my eyes.  If I read for long periods of time, my eyes would feel fatigued and have problems focusing.  I did not think much of it at first until the problem persisted and was affecting my ability to do homework for my classes.  Last week I broke down and decided that I needed to get my eyes checked.  I scheduled an appointment at a local Wal-Mart vision center.

After going through numerous tests, the optometrist determined that I had a slight astigmatism in both eyes but it was so slight that it was barely effecting my vision.  After some further investigation, he was able to determine that the blurred vision I was experiencing while reading was the side effect of a medication I am taking.

We discussed the options.  He even showed me what my prescription would be like if he went ahead and made some glasses for me.  It was marginal.  Even he thought that it was not worth doing.  

What I appreciated most was he was more concerned with doing what was right as opposed to making money for his practice.  He told me that the problem could be remedied by either changing medications or with a 1.25 power reading glasses that could be purchased in the pharmacy.  His recommendation solved my problem and probably saved me hundreds of dollars.  

It is good to know that there are still people who are honest.  Who will not take advantage of you for their own benefit.

Leave a Reply

Categories

