Posted by: rusch | February 12, 2008

Am I Hindu?

I remember my seventh grade world history well.  His name was Mr. Miller.  He had beard, a pony tail, and was perhaps one of the most interesting people I knew up until that point in my life.

He had done other things prior to teaching seventh graders world civ.  I vaguely recall hi mentioning that he worked on a fishing boat Alaska ala “Deadliest Catch” before taking on a the challenge of teaching budding adolescents.

Mr. Miller’s class was my first introduction to religions outside of Mormonism.  In learning about Buddhism, Islam, Hinduism and other religions I felt something, but never acted on those impressions.  Sixteen years later I am reading a book by Huston Smith called The World’s Religions and am loving it.

Studying traditions other then your own can be hard.  I learned this a few months ago when I purchased my own English translation of The Tibetan Book of the Dead and discovered that I was in over my head.  Like with other fields of study, it is necessary to start with the basics before jumping into the deep end of the pool.  Huston Smith’s book seems like a good place to start.  Smith makes these things accessible to the lay person, the curious, without overwhelming the reader.

So far, I am finished with the first chapter of Hinduism and have found it to be very insightful.  I have gotten more from the reading Smith then I have gotten from my own copy of the Bhagavad Gita.  But once I finish Smith’s book, I will try to read it again and expect to get more from it then from my first feeble attempts to read it.

What are my thoughts on Hinduism?  It is a great tradition.  It is no wonder that so many people find what they are looking for in what seems like a very Alien tradition.

I will continue Huston Smith and encourage you to do so too.  You might like it.  You might even become a Hindu 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

