Posted by: rusch | April 25, 2007

Moving out, moving on

The past couple of weeks have been rather low-key flecked with periods of intense activity.  Last night I began the process of getting cleared so I can register for classes in the night and evening college at the Y this summer.

There are two things standing in my.  The first is a stake president interview and paying for at least one third of the total cost of tuition for the summer.

In a way I find it a bit much that I have to have two separate interviews, one with the bishop and the other with the stake president, in order to attend BYU.  I don’t mind meeting with either of them, it’s just a hassle.  Fortunately there was an endorsement already on file from the grad program that I applied for and was denied admission to, so that cuts the ecclesiastical process in half.

I have never attended BYU’s main campus, and other then the month that I spent at the Missionary Training Center in Provo, have not lived in Utah.  I am really looking forward to having a new experience making new friends, attending a new college, and increasing my future employment options.

In the back of my mind, I hear the words of my friend Jesse Kipper saying that you never want to wake up one morning wondering what might have been, why you never followed your dream.  I don’t want to be one of the many people who ends up doing something simply because they need the money, but want to be someone who enjoys what they do for a living and is making a real positive difference in the lives of others.  Doing this meets all of these goals.

Aside from making sense, this feels like the right thing to do.  I would say that I feel peaceful about the whole thing, even with the challenges that moving out and going back to school will pose.  But I am confident that these things should not be that difficult to handle.  In the end, whatever challenges I face and overcome will only serve to make me a better person.  As Nietzsche said, “That, which does not kill me, only makes me stronger”.  Then again, Nietzsche was probably an atheist, but that still does not diminish the truth of this statement when it is put in a proper context.  For example a severe blow to the head could leave a person worse off then before, so the statement is not true about everything difficult someone might face.

But in the end this will be good experience and something that I am looking forward to and am not looking at this as an end, but as a new beginning and a rebirth.


Responses

  1. Good luck living in the land of milk and honey. There you have your pick of eternal companions. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

