Posted by: rusch | December 27, 2006

100th Post/ Year in Review

Christmas has come and gone and now 2006 is winding up.  I wouldn’t say that this year went by fast.  I would say that there 525,600 minutes, which is probably equivalent to 8,760 hours, and both sums are probably equal to 365 days.  To me most of them are the same with some highlights here and there.

What are the highlights?
•    Moving to a severe autism classroom instead of staying with the moderate class that I was working with.
•    Fulfilling the dream that I have had for years of working for the Especially for Youth program run by the church.
•    Making the decision to pursue a career with CES as a seminary teacher.
•    Getting serious about getting into grad school.
•    Being released from my calling as Elders Quorum president and being called to work in the Sunday school.
•    A very special meeting with my Stake President.

I won’t elaborate on all of these but they are special events that have had a profound impact on my life this year.

On Being released as the EQP:
I had been doing this for over a year.  While in that calling there were some serious challenges that members of the quorum faced.  Unfortunately they were the kinds of challenges that can only be solved with the Lord, the individual, and the bishop, working as a team to rectify the situation.  The frustrating thing was that there was pretty much nothing I could do to help other then encouraging everyone to greater vigilance when it comes to keeping the law of chastity.

On working for EFY:
I attended EFY three times between 1993 and 1996.  It was a blast.

After having worked there I decided that being a counselor was something that I wanted to do.  But for some reason that chance never came until this past summer.  I signed on for five weeks at Southern Virginia University and I must say it was the best thing that I have done in years.  It restored my confidence in my ability to do things and be successful.

A Career with CES:
This perhaps the biggest the long shot I have taken so far.  The odds are so impossible yet they will always be zero out of whatever unless you try.  So that is what I am doing.  I have been subbing up at the high school for the early morning classes and have so far had a great experience.  Hopefully things will pan out in my favor.

So there you go, some insight into 2006.  Hopefully next year is better.

Christopher Rusch

p.s. This is my 100th post.  If anyone is interested, there will be a celebration at Red Robin on Web Gin House road either Friday or Saturday night.  Call or email me for more information.


Responses

  1. It was a great 100th blog. Great idea!

  2. WOO-HOOOOO! The 100th post is here! I’ll have to excuse our little family from the celebration at Red Robin… for a couple of reasons. First, I will happen to be in the hospital at that time hiding under my hospital bed sheets. Second, we went to Red Robin… yesterday? for lunch–the food was good as always, but the service! They have NOT gotten their acts together yet!!

    I’ll bet EFY was an AMAZING experience!! I’ve never been able to go for various reasons, but I’m excited that you got to help out. 😀 And signing up to be a seminary teacher? That is by far the coolest thing I know about you! I would like to be an observant fly-on-the-wall and see you teach once or twice. See how you do.

    How are those grad school applications coming? *grin* Your mom is ready to throw you out of the house I’ll bet! *laughing*

  3. Year in review. Me likey likey. I think I’ll steal your idea … hehehehehe.


Leave a Reply

Categories

